Modern Runway

20120116-133253.jpg
Modern Runway

When the word ‘runway’ is mentioned, a swirl of black cloud appears, then billows away, leaving images of a long black runway, with a girl in a flowing dress, walking in time with the music, fluttering shiny black lashes touched up with mascara, a determined look in her eyes . . .

Okay, stop the whole thing.

My point is, runways immediately bring to mind a sort of fierce fashion, beautiful but to be admired from far away, never to be closely inspected in the world of streets, or rather, ordinary life. Because runway looks are so intimidating, we are loath to actually replicate it, as we are to draw Picasso-style in a normal art project.

However, despite that sort of faraway, never-to-be-touched runway beauty feel, I’ve gone and done it: quite a dramatic look, I think.

20120116-133231.jpg
Modern Runway

If I were to actually wear this look in real life, I would:
-Use a black pencil liner to outline the dramatic eye shape first
-Fill it in with the liner, then lightly dust black eyeshadow
-Lightly dab gray eyeshadow in the corners of the eyes
-Add just a wisp of white in the inner corners
-Dust white eyeshadow above the black, in the brow area

I would probably top it off with liquid liner, too, to have a sort of sharpness to it.

20120116-133244.jpg
Modern Runway

I’d also use highlighter on my cheekbones (well, if I had them) to create a sharp contrast between the highlighter, the black, and the white.

So, what does anybody think of this look? Would you wear it to a black-tie event like an opera performance they always show on TV where everyone is dressed impeccably, or would you use it for Halloween?

NOTE: I sculpted the mannequin’s face to have that model look, but I think I only succeeded in scaring myself. :/

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

